Space Cowboys

AAAAAANNNNNDDDD here’s my triumphant return from a short hiatus (wherein I promise I was actually REALLY busy… there are podcast episodes to prove it… and those close enough to me who are privy to certain information about things will back me up on being insanely busy).  Cue up the music and get excited for my triumphant return to the “Hall H” of my life that is my blog (… it’s a comic con reference…).

There we are… I’ve discovered a new talent: I can sing along and type at the same can’t feel myself don’t want nobody else to ever love me— well… almost at the same time.

Anyway, back to catching up.  I’ve been on a bit of a “I like stuff with spaghetti western elements” kick recently.  Lots of Enino Morricone has been listened to, some good movies were viewed, I’m knee deep in the Serenity comic books (set between Firefly and the movie, Serenity), and rewatched Cowboy Bebop.  I guess the “kick” isn’t so much me being hooked on the classic cowboy western genre movies but more how those have influenced different aspects of genre culture all around.  The image of the Explorer on the Ragged Edge is one I just can’t seem to get out of my head… and tumble weeds!  Lots and lots of tumble weeds!

For real, now….

Yes, yes, I’m the science fiction/superhero nerd… and don’t worry, I’m not swapping out my bow tie and tweed jacket for a stetson and six shooter (though stetsons, like bow ties, are also cool)… but this idea of the explorer on the frontier is a bit more fun to think about and indulge in at the moment than the BOOM EXPLOSIONS SPACESHIP ZOOM ALIEN-NOOKIE AWESOME BADASS DUDE stuff that – well… we all have a more immature side.

Here’s part of mine.

I guess it has a bit more to do with the fact that the time is quickly approaching when I’m going to be moving and doing the whole “adult life” thing.  While I do truly dislike a great majority of Iowa City, it will be an adjustment to get used to life in a larger metropolitan area.  Then there’s the whole new social landscape to navigate… and of course, there’s the 405.  That too.  All in all, it’s been a nice shift to go from “Precocious Punk” to “Eager Explorer” and it’s an angle I haven’t really taken before.

It’s not really a coincidence that the original title for Star Trek was actually “Wagon Train to the Stars.”  Life’s about exploration and discovery and the cool stuff – the things that go BOOM! and look really awesome – is but a small part of that (if your imagination is vivid enough) –  never the center of everything.  It is the human drive toward the unknown – our obsession with knowledge and craving for the “new” –  that puts us out on that ragged edge.  Whether we’re running away from something, running toward something, or just admiring the view, we’re all frontier-men/women in life and that is a fantastic story to be a part of.  We are all truly on a Wagon Train to Somewhere… and for a very lucky few with either gobs of money, an insanely long lifespan, or a wild imagination combined with ADD and a desire to tell stories, it very well may be headed toward the stars above our heads.

So that’s about it.  The Cowboy is restless and getting ready to leave… and for once, I can honestly say that I don’ think he’ll walk out of town in semi slow motion with Nine Inch Nails blaring in the background before a massive explosion rips the town behind him and he grins as a blast of wind from the explosion hits him and ruffles his clothes, making him look even more badass.  I get the feeling he’s about to ride off into the sunset, possibly on horseback, smiling all the way as he moves on in life… and with an aim to misbehave.

 

See ya, Space Cowboy.

Leave a Reply

