Nerdgasms ‘R’ Us

Excuse the unmitigated crap that was my last post.  Actually, excuse the last couple.  They kind of remind me of the Starship Trooper Franchise… hilariously awful and totally embarrassing.

Getting back to reality (and by that I mean, trying to take myself seriously as a writer), I had a massive brainstorming session with lots of white board writing, berating of children in a class brain storming session… (Side note, here is the example of “Berated” that Google provides when you look up the spelling: Verb: Scold or criticize (someone) angrily: “my son berated me for not giving him a Jewish upbringing”.)… yeah I came up with nothing.  So after a whole lot of brain farts, meme-ing, and a bit of food and I came up with the basic concept of defining yet another part of who I am.  A nerd.  A geek.  A fanboy.  A reader.  A bookworm.  Probably a bunch of other terms I have yet commit to memory also apply.

As a kid, I remember seeing shows and movies where the other kids who liked comics and science fiction wore gigantic glasses, had pimples, and were socially awkward.

So something like this guy.... what a freak... (if you were wondering why I am making fun of a random kid in glasses... Hi, this is me.)

The odd thing is that I loved those characters the most.  While they were never the sports stars or the prom kings/queens, they were smart and had a panache about them.

The whole thing about being a nerd or a geek (or whatever else you could call yourself or me) is that you love a more complex type of pop culture.  Nerds are the Hipsters’ Antichrists.  We love stuff that is considered a part of pop culture but said stuff is far more cerebral than, say, the Jersey Shore.

I would like to point out the similarities here... just take a look.

Yes, ComicCon (the Mecca of Geekdom) has had things such as Twilight and Harry Potter in years past but the core of the Con remains true to all the nerdy glory that made the Con what it is.  This year, there was even a shift away from Big Cinema and towards more extended forms of story telling (comics, novels, and TV).  I live for that stuff.  All the drawn out, complex, and compelling stories make me all giddy.  All through High School I could have been focusing on kissing ass and making homecoming court or whatever (not that I’d have had a shot at that stuff anyway, mind you) but instead, my head was buried in car magazines and science fiction (when I wasn’t performing).

There is something awesome about being a nerd.  It could be the totally freewheeling excitement about something that isn’t listed off in any “Interests” section of athletic program pamphlets or beauty pageants.  It could be simply enjoying the atmosphere created by an incredibly passionate group of people about something relatively not mainstream.  Hell, it could even be something as simple as enjoying trying new things.  No matter what draws one into “Nerd Culture” or “Nerdom,” they find something unlike any other culture out there.  With the myriad of possibilities ranging from “Fantasy” to “Steampunk” and way out to the far reaches of the future through Science Fiction, Nerdom encompasses far more than most other cultures that surround a hobby.  I love it.  I may not be a huge fan everything encompassed by the term “nerd” but I love how Nerds come in all shapes, all sizes, and have a certain level of mutual respect for one another.  Not to mention that many aspects of Nerdom are far from mindless and deal with things like moral ambiguity, faith, reason for existence, and even the realistic representation of where our development as a culture is and where it is headed.  Being a Nerd is like the ultimate high or trip-out for someone craving intellectual thought.

The next time you see a “Nerd” depicted as some pimply, grease ball, kid with a speech impediment or the next time you think Nerds are uncool remember this very small list of a great many Nerds in the world.

James Callis and Tricia Helfer (Baltar and Caprica 6 from Battlestar Galactica)

John Barrowman (Captain Jack Harkness from Torchwood)

George Takei and Nichelle Nichols (Sulu and Uhura from Star Trek)

(That is just a small representation of the Science Fiction ACTORS/ACTRESSES who are Nerds).

That is all for now.  Hopefully this was a bit more bearable than my last few posts.

See ya, Space Cowboy.

Leave a Reply

